Meet our Board of Directors

Our volunteer Board of Directors and Board committees are comprised of local leaders with diverse backgrounds. These individuals are selected for their expertise and commitment in both their professional and personal lives.

Board of Directors

John Hayes
Theodore (Theo) Guidry II, CPA
Vice Chair
Senior Vice President of Risk Management,
General James T. (Tom) Hill
Retired, Former President,
The JT Hill Group
Michelle R. Scarver, CPA/PFS
Marie Smith
Immediate Past Chair
Civic Leader,
Janie Barrera
Founding President and CEO,
Harold Berg, CPA
Officer and Incorporator,
James D. (Darryl) Byrd
Founder, Managing Director,
Laura Ehrenberg-Chesler
Founder, Partner,
Luis de la Garza
Retired, Former President & CEO,
David Komet
Adena Williams Loston, Ph.D.
Brad Parman
Alex Perez
Sanudo Perez PLLC
Jane Phipps
Civic Leader & Founder,
G.P. Singh, Ph.D.
Karta Technologies, Inc.
Matthew C. Reedy
Executive Director on the Enterprise Innovation Team,
Fernando C. Reyes
R. Bruce Tilley
First Vice President - Investment Officer,
Harry W. Wolff, Jr.

Past Board Chairs

Marie Smith (2015-2016)
David C. Hennessee, CPA, MBA (2013-2014) 
Conrad J. Netting, IV, CPA (2012)
Sarah E. Harte (2010-2011)
J. Robert Mehall (2009)
Joe J. Lozano, CPA (2008)
C. Nanette Clare, M.D. (2007)
Pat L. Wilson, CPA (2006)
Raymond R. Carvajal, R.Ph. (2005)
Ommy Strauch, SPHR (2004)
Laura G. McNutt, CPA (2003)
Marvin Forland, M.D. (2002)
Cathy Obriotti Green (2001)
Arthur H. Bayern (1999-2000)
Leonard E. Lawrence, M.D. (1998)
Margaret Anderson (1997)
Edward M. Polansky (1996)
Mary Beth Williamson (1994-1995)
Al J. Notzon, III (1992-1993)
L. John Strieber, Jr. (1991)
Gaines Voigt (1989-1990)
Jerome F. Weynand, Ph.D. (1988)
John E. Banks, Sr. (1986-1987)
William Reddell (1984-1985)
Charles G. Orsinger (1983)
Edith McAllister (1981-1982)
Richard E. Goldsmith (1977-1980)
Hull Youngblood (1976)
Patricia Shields Ayres (1974-1975)
David Jacobson, M.D. (1964-1973)

Board Committees

Executive Committee

John Hayes, Chair
Theodore (Theo) Guidry II, CPA, Vice Chair
Marie Smith, Immediate Past Chair

Gen. James "Tom" Hill, Treasurer 
Michelle Scarver, Secretary
Luis de la Garza (Chair JLS Trustees)
David Komet (Chair Investment Com)
Brad Parman (Chair Governance)
Bruce Tilley (Chair GPS)
Matt Reedy (Chair Development)
Staff: Dennis E. Noll

Investment Committee

David Komet, Chair
Edward Benson, Ph.D.
Chris Claus
John Dewald
Roger Graham 
W.W. (Bo) McAllister III
Jay McAnelly
Michelle Scarver
Marie Smith
Bruce Tilley
Craig Wilson (Warm Springs)

Development Committee

Matthew C. Reed., Chair 
Jenifer Brown
Luis de la Garza
Brad Parman
Jane Phipps
Fernando Reyes
G.P. Singh, Ph.D.
Marie Smith
Harry Wolff
Staff: Lisa Brunsvold

Governance Committee

Brad Parman, Chair
Janie Barrera
Laura Ehrenberg-Chesler
Adena Williams Loston
Jane Phipps
Fernando Reyes
Staff: Patty Russett

Grants and Programs Committee

R. Bruce Tilley, Chair
J. Darryl Byrd
Anna-Melissa Cavazos
Luis de la Garza
Melissa De la Garza, M.S., D.V.M.
Gen. James “Tom” Hill
Steve J. Markey
Brad Parman
Hon. Bonnie Reed
Nancy Reed
Rock Ruiz
Zaida Saliba
Marie Smith 
Staff: Susan Thompson

Audit Committee

Alex Perez, Chair
Harold Berg, CPA 

Blake Hastings
David Hennessee
Stacey Isenberg

Finance Committee

Gen. James “Tom” Hill, Chair
Luis de la Garza
Mike Bolner
Roberto Espinoza
Michelle R. Scarver, CPA/PFS 
Marie Smith

303 Pearl Parkway, Suite 114
San Antonio, TX 78215

The San Antonio Area Foundation helps donors achieve their charitable goals for the greater benefit of the community.

Contact Information

(210) 225-2243   Email Us

Working With Us

Access My Fund   Board Login

Connect with us