San Antonio Area African American Community Fund

Uniting and inspiring African Americans' involvement in philanthropy

The San Antonio Area African American Community Fund (SAAAACF) is a community outreach fund of the San Antonio Area Foundation that promotes philanthropy and supports nonprofit organizations that serve African Americans in the San Antonio area.  Since 2010, SAAAACF has distributed more than $90,000 to charitable programs helping African Americans reach their full potential.  The SAAAACF receives administrative support from the San Antonio Area Foundation and grant support from the John L. Santikos Charitable Foundation.  All grant decisions are made by the fund through their designated representatives.  Applicants and grantees of the Area Foundation’s annual response grants may apply to this outreach fund without regard for past or future Area Foundation applications. 

2018 Renaissance with Stars

Saturday, August 18  |  The Tobin Center for the Performing Arts

Get ready for the 2018 Renaissance with the Stars: Showtime at the Apollo. Five local business and community leaders have accepted the challenge to train with professional dancers and compete in front of alive audience on Saturday, August 18. This event is hosted by the San Antonio Area African American Community Fund. 

Learn more 

Uniting our community

Dedicated volunteers are engaged in fund development and strategic direction for the San Antonio Area African American Community Fund. The fund hosts an annual fundraising event, Renaissance with the Stars, a ballroom dance competition.

Donate to the fund

Supporting nonprofits with grants

Through grants, the fund supports nonprofit organizations that serve African Americans in arts/culture, community development, education, health and social/human services. Nonprofit organizations can apply for a grant from the fund on an annual basis. 

Our steering committee

Bobby Blount, Fund Chair, The MITRE Corporation

Henry Boone, Turner Construction Company

Scott Bridgest, USAA

Akeem Brown, SAGE

Marva Crisp, RWTS Co-Chair

Dr. Sharon Crockett Ray, St. Philips College

Paul Fletcher, Langley & Banack

Dr. Debbie Hamilton, Northeast Lakeview College

Velma Willoughby Kemp, Grants Chair

Terrence Littlefield, RWTS Co-Chair, Basic Prep Academy

Joseph Millhouse

Oanh Maroney-Omitade, Methodist Healthcare Ministries

Na'Shon Mitchell, USAA

Adaku Okoro

Wayne Terry, HEB

Ellen J. Ward, Joeris General Contractors

Tracy L. Watts, St. Philips

Ed L. White, Jr.

303 Pearl Parkway, Suite 114
San Antonio, TX 78215

The San Antonio Area Foundation helps donors achieve their charitable goals for the greater benefit of the community.

Contact Information

(210) 225-2243   Email Us

Working With Us

Access My Fund   Board Login

Connect with us