Contact us:

303 Pearl Parkway, Suite 114
San Antonio, Texas 78215

Phone: 210.225.2243
Fax: 210.225.1980

Board of Directors

The San Antonio Area Foundation Board of Directors is representative of our community’s rich business, civic and cultural diversity. With a demonstrated commitment to philanthropic endeavors, Board members enhance the Area Foundation’s ability to function as conveners, responsive grant makers, and stewards of the assets entrusted by our donors. The Board establishes policies, organization-wide priorities and program strategies, and ensures operational integrity and financial accountability.


David C. Hennessee, CPA, MBA, Chair
Retired Vice President/CFO/Treasurer
Holt CAT

  • Board Member: Buckner International, Buckner Retirement Services, Trinity Baptist Church Deacon Board
  • Past Board Member: Clarity Child Guidance Center, University of Incarnate Word, HEB School of Business Advisory Board
  • Member: Rotary Club of San Antonio

G.P. Singh, Ph.D., Vice Chair
Karta Technologies, Inc.

  • Board Member: Bank of San Antonio, Catholic Charities, Sikh DharmSal, Greehey School of Business at St. Mary's University, Development Board UTSA
  • Business Advisory Council - Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
  • Past Board Member: Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas - San Antonio Branch; Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce; Trinity University; United Way; Keystone School, Methodist Ministries, NCI Information Systems (NCIT), Honorary Commander of Lackland AFB

Luis de la Garza, Treasurer
President & CEO
Texen Power Company, LLC

  • Current Boards: Boy Scouts of America Alamo Area Council, Girl Scout Council of Southwest Texas, and Development Board and President’s Council of the University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio
  • Past Boards: United Way of San Antonio and Bexar County, United Way of Texas, the San Antonio Public Library Foundation, Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, and San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce.
  • Active member of Coker United Methodist Church

Sue E. Turner, Secretary
Brigadier General, USAF, NC (Retired)
Civic Leader

  • Current Boards: San Antonio Federal Credit Union; The Opera San Antonio
  • Past Commissions: 2005 BRAC; American Battle Monuments; Texas Veterans

Conrad J. Netting IV, CPA, Immediate Past Chair
Managing Partner
Netting & Pace, CPAs – Family Wealth Management

  • Past Board Member:  Morningside Ministries; Folklife Festival; Winston School; The Acorn School
  • Advisory Committee Member: Texas Resources for Iraq Afghanistan Deployment (TRIAD) Fund awarding over $12 million in four years.
  • Life member of Christ Episcopal Church

Janie Barrera
Founding President and CEO
Accion Texas Inc.

  • San Antonio Business Journal 2013 Legacy Leader and "Twenty Defining Players: People Whoe Have Helped Shaped the City"
  • Board Director, the Federal Reserve of Dallas’ San Antonio Branch
  • Trustee, Our Lady of the Lake University

Harold Berg, CPA
Officer and Incorporator
Cohen Berg & Co., P.C.

  • Board member Lone Star Capital Bank & Chairman of the Audit Committee
  • Board Member and past officer Golden Manor Jewish Senior Services
  • Past Board Member Jewish Community Center, San Antonio Food Bank, Congregation Rodfei Shalom

Laura Ehrenberg-Chesler
Founder, Partner
Crossvault Capital Management

  • Current Boards: UT Health Science Center Medical Humanities and Ethics Board; Chair Jewish Federation Investment Committee; Los Compadres Advisory Board; United Communities of San Antonio Exec. Committee, Past Chair; SA Holocaust Memorial Museum Board, Past Chair
  • Past Boards: Jewish Federation Campaign Chair/Board Member/Executive Committee; Spina Bifida Board; Arthritis Foundation Board; Big Brothers Big Sisters Board

Theodore (Theo) Guidry II, CPA
Senior Vice President of Risk Management
Valero Energy Corporation

  • Chairman of Board, Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of San Antonio
  • Immediate Past Chair – Alamo City Black Chamber of Commerce, SAWS – Citizens Advisory Panel
  • OIL Insurance Limited and Oil Casualty Insurance Limited – Board Member
  • Member Holy Redeemer Catholic Church

John Hayes
Activa Resources, LLC

  • Managing Partner, One Savannah Ridge Development, L.P.
  • Treasurer, Board Member, San Antonio Federal Credit Union
  • Commissioner, Bexar County and City of San Antonio Bond Oversight Commission

Edward B. Kelley, MAI
Retired President & CEO
USAA Real Estate Company

  • Currently a consultant to Silver Ventures, emphasizing the Pearl Brewery project
  • Current Boards: CPS Energy Corporation; Bartlett Cocke Construction Company; SWBC Real Estate Capital; San Antonio Medical Foundation;San Antonio Area Foundation; Cancer Therapy and Research Center (CTRC); Chairman of the President’s Development Board of the University of Texas Health Science Center of San Antonio

William G. Moll
Retired, President & CEO
KLRN Public Television

  • Trustee: University of the Incarnate Word; United Way of San Antonio; Greater SA Chamber of Commerce; Masters Leadership Program; USO Foundation; KIPP San Antonio; TOBIN Performing Arts Center
  • Former Chair USO World Board of Governors; Former Chair & CEO Clear Channel Television; Former Chair Harte Hanks Broadcasting; former CEO, WNBC-TV, New York.

Brad Parman
The Parman Group

  • Real Estate Investments and Management
  • Board Member: McNay Art Museum

Jane Phipps
Civic Leader

  • Founder/Program Director Masters Leadership Program
  • Alamo Colleges Foundation Board
  • St. Mary's Greehey School of Business Advisory Council

Knox M Pitts II
Retired, Chief Operating Officer
San Antonio Federal Credit Union

  • Retired COO, SACU
  • Volunteer - Mission Road Ministries
  • Volunteer - Monarch Academy

Michelle R. Scarver, CPA/PFS
Partner, Netting & Pace, CPAs - Family Wealth Management

  • Advisory Board Member – RIA Board of Advisors
  • Past Board Member – Alamo City Black Chamber of Commerce
  • Member Holy Redeemer Catholic Church

Richard T. Schlosberg III
Publisher & CEO (Retired)
Los Angeles Times

  • Chairman, Texas Biomedical Research Institute
  • Chairman, Kaiser Family Foundation
  • Past President & CEO, The David & Lucile Packard Foundation
  • Founding Director, The Bank of San Antonio

Marie Smith
Civic Leader

  • Founding Member, Respite Care of San Antonio
  • Immediate Past Board Chairman - Charity Ball Association
  • Texas Lutheran University - Regent
  • UTHSCSA - School of Nursing Advisory Council - Immediate Past Chair
  • Past Board member: South Texas Blood and Tissue Center; Cancer Center Council; Alamo Heights School Foundation; Komen for the Cure - San Antonio Affiliate; San Antonio Children's Museum; Junior League of San Antonio; Former Vestry - Christ Episcopal Church.

R. Bruce Tilley, CRPC
Vice President - Investment Officer
Wells Fargo Advisors, LLC

  • Board of Governors – The Club at Sonterra
  • Past Board President - Lubbock Area Foundation; Lubbock ISD-Foundation for Excellence; Lubbock Chapters of March of Dimes; Prevent Blindness
  • Past Board Member: Lubbock Covenant Hospital Foundation; Lubbock Visitors and Convention Bureau
  • Current member of Community Bible Church

Ruben Villafranca, CPA
Director of Centralized Accounting
Zachry Holdings, Inc.

  • Current life member and officer of Veterans of Foreign War, Vietnam Veteran of America, 6924th Heritage Past member of  San Antonio Area Foundation TRIAD Committee, Catholic Charities of San Antonio Board of Directors, Daughters of Charity of San Antonio Development Board